REGISTRATION IS FEBRUARY 10- APRIL 10.
Driver’s education consists of two parts: Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel. State Law requires anyone under 18 to complete both parts. Bay Port High School offers both parts of drivers’ education only during the summer. State Law also stipulates certain age requirements to be eligible for each part of drivers’ education. All students, regardless of grade level, who will turn 15 on or before September 30, 2020 are eligible for the classroom portion of driver’s education this upcoming summer. Students cannot receive their instruction permit until the age of 15 years 6 months AND be enrolled in a Behind-the-Wheel program. Therefore, to be eligible for the Behind-the-Wheel portion, students must turn 16 on or before December 31, 2020. There is no cost to Bay Port students for the classroom. Cost for Behind-the-Wheel is $295.
16th birthday on or before December 31, 2020
- Eligible for both classroom and behind-the-wheel at Bay Port summer 2020
16th birthday January 1, 2021 through September 30, 2021
- Eligible for Classroom Only at Bay Port summer 2020
- Options for behind-the-wheel instruction
- Take at Bay Port the following summer 2020
- Enroll in a private driving school during the school year after age of 15 years 6 months.
16th birthday October 1, 2021 or later
- Not eligible for either part of driver’s education at Bay Port summer 2020
Classroom schedules will be emailed home by April 19. Behind-The-Wheel schedules will be mailed home by May 17.
Important note for those taking Behind-The-Wheel:
All students taking Behind-The-Wheel will need to pass a written test and eye exam to obtain their instruction permit. An instruction permit is needed before behind-the-wheel instruction can begin. This Temps Test will be given on Monday, April 20, 2020 in the LMC during the student’s study halls. Students who are unsuccessful on their first attempt on the test or students unable to take the test on this day will have an opportunity to take the test on Thursday, April 23 at 6:50am in Rm B213. Those students that do not pass or take the first two tests will be required to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles to take or re-take the test sometime after the testing date at Bay Port. State Law requires that students cannot get their instruction permit more than 60 days before starting behind-the-wheel instruction. Therefore, with no exceptions, no student taking behind-the-wheel at Bay Port will be allowed to take this test before the test date in April at Bay Port High School. The WisconsinDrEdManual is located on the Bay Port High School Website for students to start studying for their written temp test.
By signing your student up for Driver's Education, you hereby give permission for Bay Port High School to provide completion information concerning your son's/daughter's Drivers Education record to the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (WDMV). It is understood that this information is provided to the WDMV electronically via the internet.
Please direct any questions regarding driver’s education laws, or the Bay Port driver’s education program to Mike Simoens, 662-7081.
Links are above for handbook, practice test, and Bay Port site for more information.